Posted by: Sarah K. Johnson | 04/03/2011

Technology creates criticism

It’s crazy how much we depend on technology nowadays. Without it, what would we do? We would read books, have more in-person encounters with friends and family and enjoy the outdoors.

I’m not saying we don’t do that now, but sometimes I really do feel that technology limits us from a lot.

A week ago, Pepsi was spilled on my MacBook, and of course, I was initially devastated, but over the course of the past week it seemed to be working fine. Then all of a sudden the keyboard stopped functioning, and the other day, the computer stopped working all together.

Nothing turned on. I took it to several places, trying to get different opinions on what to do. The first guy I went to at a local repair shop told me to give up.

“You might as well get a new computer because the cost it will be to fix this is about the same as a brand new MacBook,” he said.

But, I didn’t want to give up hope yet. I finally found a place in town that will be giving me a free estimate sometime soon, and I’m praying for the best.

After four years of use, I realized my computer could be gone forever, and became sad knowing that all my music files, study abroad pictures and practicum articles could be gone. I think a lot of times I took my computer for granted. I didn’t know what I had until it was gone.

I realized how much I use my laptop on a daily basis and how much time I really do spend surfing the net or checking my Facebook. I remember my boyfriend telling me, “Sarah, it’s just a computer.”

And I of course, I retaliated, saying I feel like I lost a part of me. After I said this, I felt selfish and spoiled. I was getting upset over a piece of technology. I was sad over a computer. Yes, my MacBook meant a lot to me, and it is an expensive device, yet it is just a thing.

It isn’t someone that I love or hold dear to my heart. It is a computer.


Leave a comment

Categories